Out Of The Office – How To Travel The World With A 9 to 5 Job

You’re constantly reading about travel bloggers who quit their jobs to become full-time nomads, it’s the life we all want but few get to live. If it was simple to quit your job and hop on a plane for an adventure around the world I would be the first one at the airport, but let’s be realistic and say it’s not THAT easy.
If you’re like me and leaving your 9 to 5 job or selling everything you own is just not an option (unless there is someone out there who would like to buy my life – that includes student loan debt… any takers? Nope? Didn’t think so) I’m here to tell you that you can still travel the world! What if I told you that with just 19 days off this year I have/will have traveled a total of 12 times, 6 within the United States and 6 adventures abroad. And no, none of these trips were work related. Some people ask me if I ever work since I travel so frequently, and the answer to that is yes I do, I just use my days off different than most.

Working a 9 to 5 can sometimes be stressful and I honestly think travel is what helps me keep my sanity. Here are just a few tips on how you can travel the world while keeping your full time job (after all it’s what pays for the plane tickets):

1. Proper Planning 
At number 1, this is probably the most important tip. Proper planning is everything, especially when it comes time to request the days off. There is nothing wrong with planning a trip a year in advance. Plan your year of travel, and depending on how your job works request the days off all at once. The earlier you request the days off the better your chances are of getting them approved. ***It’s important to remember that just because you’re planning something doesn’t mean you have to book everything right away. Unless the trip can be canceled or dates can be changed don’t book anything until you receive approval.

2. Holiday Travel 
I know sometimes it’s more expensive to travel around the major holidays, but traveling during these times mean one or two less days you have to take off from work! Weigh out your options, maybe it’s cheaper to leave on the actual holiday or a day or two before, either way it’s like getting a free day off.

3. Weekend Trips
Including a weekend in your travel plans is a no-brainer, especially since most 9 to 5 jobs don’t require you to work on those days. Taking long weekend trips are the perfect way to save your days for the bigger adventures. It’s even better when your long weekend includes a holiday (Memorial Day, Labor Day)

4. Flight Times
Sometimes the pickier you are with travel times the more expensive it may be. It seems to me that the flights that work out best are always $200 or more over the lowest price, but sometimes you get lucky. Taking an afternoon or evening flight means you only have to take a half day instead of a full day off, or maybe your flight is late enough where you just have to eat lunch at your desk and leave a little early (been there, done that). Redeye flights are always an option when trying to save time at work, and most of the time they are reasonably priced. Think of it this way if you choose the redeye you get an extra full day wherever you are, you may just be tired the next day – but remember travel is always worth it. That’s what coffee and redbull are for.

5. Don’t Call Out Sick
You don’t have to take it to the extreme like going to work with 100 degree fever (not going to lie I’ve done it, and do not recommend it – although I would probably do it again lol) but calling out of work because you have the sniffles is not worth it. Unless you cannot physically get out of bed, get your butt to work – don’t be wasteful with your days.

For some this may not be new information, but those of you who were curious on how I travel so much there you have it. If I’ve encouraged just one other 9 to 5er to travel more often, I’ve done my job! So put on that automatic reply and head out of the office!

                         
xx Lauren
One thought on “Out Of The Office – How To Travel The World With A 9 to 5 Job”

Leave a Reply

